Aya de Leon

author – activist – faculty – mom

My first spoken word piece on Puerto Rico since the hurricane

I’m not sure where spoken word fits in the stages of grief. Perhaps, for this piece, it sits right at the crossroads of unspeakable loss and unfathomable rage. Writing this piece wasn’t enough. I needed to embody it through performance and share it. This is my first ever edited video. I always said I didn’t have time to figure out this type of technology. But these are brutal times, in which we don’t have the luxury to wait for someone else to help lift our voices.

I remember after September 11th, 2001 Suheir Hammad had a piece called “First Writing Since.” This is my grito of first writing since hurricane Maria from the West Coast of the US diaspora for mi gente en Puerto Rico.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2017 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

Upcoming Appearances

No upcoming events

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,311 other followers

