Aya de Leon

author – activist – faculty – mom

What’s That Noise: My #LatinosAgainstTrump Election Day Juju Rattle

anti-trump-rattleLast month, I went to the East Bay Maker Faire with my daughter and some of our friends. There was a fabulous toy hacking booth, where people could put Barbie heads onto dinosaur bodies, and trucks onto action figure bodies, and anything else a person could imagine.

I saw this Go Diego, Go! kiddie toy and a Sponge Bob rattle, and was instantly inspired to make a #LatinosAgainstTrump juju rattle for the election. I love how Diego has his fist up, and I did some Indigenous-inspired face paint, to make him more fierce.

Originally, I had it held together with glue from a hot glue gun. But it broke, so I went for the old tried and true: (neon) duct tape and rubber bands. Here on my Twitter, you can see it in action.

I’ll be shaking the rattle throughout the day to bring all the spiritual forces to bear against Trump. What spells are you doing? Please tweet them to me at @ayadeleon.

#NeverTrump #ImNotWithHerImVotingForHerTheresADifference #Hillary2016

One comment on “What’s That Noise: My #LatinosAgainstTrump Election Day Juju Rattle

  1. Pingback: The Role of the Artist in the Trump Era: We Keep Going | Aya de Leon

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Upcoming Appearances

No upcoming events

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,311 other followers

