Aya de Leon

author – activist – faculty – mom

Late to the party: #ShoutYourAbortion meets #BlackLivesMatter

I can’t believe I missed everything that happened with Planned Parenthood, and the birth of the fabulous hashtag #ShoutYourAbortion this weekend. According to at Latina: “The hashtag, #ShoutYourAbortion, was started on Saturday by activists Lindy West and Amelia Bonow in response to the House of Representatives 241-187 vote to suspend federal funding for Planned Parenthood.” This is outrageous.

And I missed this fabulous moment of pro-choice activism basically because…I was parenting. Which was planned.

After I got the abortion in my 20s (at Planned Parenthood), I have become a mom in my 40s. And I have a very enviable situation (a good job I love, a caring partner w/ a good job, a lot of extended family, years of therapy to help me break intergenerational cycles of dysfunction, a personal support system and a passionate and fully developed creative life). And you know what? I still am overworked, underslept, undernurtured, and stressed.

Saturday, when this social media hashtag was going viral, I was at the swimming pool all day with my kid, enjoying myself, but functionally exiled from participation in public life. The rest of the weekend was family-oriented, and Monday was all about writing (and getting my car towed to the mechanic). Today, I was teaching til early afternoon, and here I am catching up.

As a working mom, I often miss great things on social media. Like today. Anyway, here are my late-to-the-party tweets on the topic.

Basically #BlackWomensLivesMatter beyond just being vessels for the next generation.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 23, 2015 by in Uncategorized.

Upcoming Appearances

  • LitQuake - Lit by the Lake October 13, 2017 at 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm Oakland Public Library, 125 14th St, Oakland, CA 94612, USA Five East Bay authors read from their newly published books in this after-hours event at Oakland’s Main Library. Enjoy a glass of wine, make new friends, and hear from Aya de Leon, Meredith Jaeger, Elizabeth Rosner, Shanthi Sekaran, and Arisa White. FREE https://litquake2017.sched.com/event/BK1s/lit-by-the-lake

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,256 other followers

