Aya de Leon

author – activist – faculty – mom

What the brown Disney Princesses would really be telling their audiences…

Disney Brown PrincessesInspired by one of the memes on the #WomenInFiction Twitter hashtag.

10 comments on “What the brown Disney Princesses would really be telling their audiences…

  1. Ally
    March 23, 2015

    I’m just wondering why Princess Tiana is the only one swearing like a mother trucker, but the others seem to be able to articulate their points. Is this because she is so frustrated with the movement or is this to perpetuate a stereotype of the angry black woman?

    • Ally
      March 23, 2015

      This is actually for my own education, I guess I’m just trying to start a dialogue and my question should be rephrased…Does anyone else think that Princess Tiana’s comment is because of frustration with movement building or does anyone else think that it perpetuates a stereotype? Or am I hyper sensitive and looking for things that aren’t there?

      • Jia
        March 23, 2015

        It seems that it is not coming from a place of malice, but is it necessary that she uses profanity? The other commenters are correct in questioning this. the “mutherfucker” part makes her less articulate and detracts from the message of BlackLivesMatter and does perpetuate the stereotype of an angry Black woman. I suggest either remove the profanity for Princess Tiana or add profinity to everything.

    • Shay
      March 24, 2015

      Agreed

  2. Dr Nzingha
    March 23, 2015

    Princess Tiana might be tired of folks trying to DILUTE BLACK LIVES by replacing it with ALL LIVES..little johnny and timmy and not the ones getting gunned down by the police, Their mothers do not have to prepare them on what to do WHEN stopped by the police or worry about them returning home if they walk down to the corner store or go to the park.

    • Ally
      March 23, 2015

      I feel that, and am not looking forward to having that conversation with my kids either. Hugs to you.

    • Sylvia Kirby
      March 24, 2015

      That puts the “All lives” in its place, nicely, Dr Nzingha. It is all very well people saying, “I see people as people” but that does not redress the balance, it just camouflages the inequalities. Given to choice, the power dynamic WILL place certain people nearer the top in a ’round table’ discussion. The dilution achieved by the Equality and Human Rights Commission as a mixed topic table was I feel always going to weaken it. To put topics together as ‘all the minorities’ just accepts and codified that minority status.

      I can learn that fights for justice can succeed from watching another “minority group” or even from my belonging to one minority identity that has made more progress than my other minority identity. The difficulty is, I can only bring so much of my gained knowledge to a new table. This is tough. But we KNOW all lives matter, making Black lives matter, or even keeping up the fight for ‘minority’ lives to matter cannot be sidelined by the ‘everyone’ card. This scares people. For fear the ‘other’ ‘other’ wins the race?

      All I can ask is for a smile of encouragement as I take my battle forward. I may not get it… that is the nature of ‘other’. We don’t all stand together. We can smile when others are victorious though! So I watch the places my friends struggle and pray and try to educate across my areas.

  3. Shawn Taylor
    March 23, 2015

    Kind of bothersome that the only Black “princess” is foul mouthed and considerably less articulate than the rest. She gets no thoughts of her own, only a hashtag and a curse word? #superfail

  4. Lauren
    March 23, 2015

    I, too, am bothered that princess Tiana is cursing when the other characters aren’t. Or maybe it’s not so much that she is cursing (as said in the comments, this is probably is out of frustration), but that “motherfuckers” is a sexist curse word. It would be nice if she had more dialogue.

  5. Fresca Diletto
    March 26, 2015

    I really want to hear from the author on why she chose Princess Tiana’s blurb. It doesn’t fit with the rest.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 22, 2015 by in Uncategorized.

Upcoming Appearances

  • Bay Area Book Fest June 3, 2017 – June 4, 2017
  • Brooklyn Book Fest September 17, 2017

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,161 other followers

