Aya de Leon

author – activist – faculty – mom

From the vault: “Quick Note To My Body” from 2004

Quick note to my body:

Hey thanks for being such a trooper, sweetie! i know you’ve been asking for more water but I just keep forgetting. How crazy is that? Two-thirds water and I can’t seem to stay hydrated. And that lack of exercise; you’ve been so patient! Oh hold on, I’m getting another call…sorry that took so long, where was I? Oh yeah, I’ve been getting your messages about my posture and poor positioning at the computer. We can’t really address that right now, but it’s a good idea. We’ll just do a little chiropractic here and there to keep it from getting too crazy & look at the big picture later, okay? Did I mention how much i appreciate your understaning? Especially about the diet thing. I mean, if other people can eat it, why can’t I? I mean, what am I some conspiracy theorist who believes that the milk, corn, wheat and beef lobbies are filling our diet full of genetically modified, toxic, processed foods that are killing us? Really honey, I think you’re overreacting just a little bit, don’t you think? But I have been doing better in the sleep department, right? Well, a little better. You know I can really tell that I am the proud descendant of slaves.   I mean I don’t have that complete ability to work like an animal with lousy food and the worst of working conditions, but I’ve still got that good ol’ spunky slave spirit of my ancesters. Like the timexes of the world. We take a licking and keep on ticking, right? Well, babe, I’ve gotta dash, but you keep up the good work, okay? And I’m so glad we had this little talk.

 

I’ve been working like crazy on my book & didn’t get a chance to blog yesterday.  Today, I decided to pull something from the vault.  Went to my file of poems from 2004 to see what I was writing a decade ago & found this piece.  Funny how some challenges persist…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2014 by in Uncategorized.

Upcoming Appearances

  • THE BOSS book launch NYC June 1, 2017 at 1:00 am – 3:00 am Sisters Uptown Bookstore in Harlem
  • Bay Area Book Fest June 3, 2017 – June 4, 2017 Berkeley, CA, USA For details: https://www.baybookfest.org/2017-schedule/
  • *****Book Launch Party for THE BOSS***** June 9, 2017 at 2:00 am – 3:00 am Laurel Book Store, 1423 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94612, USA For more info: http://www.laurelbookstore.com/event/aya-de-leon-author-boss

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,192 other followers

